31 Day BPD Challenge – Day 7: Have you ever dissociated? If so, how often?

Seeing as I’m having a hell of a time battling this tonight, I re-read this blog post and decided to share again. Do you dissociate? How often and for how long?

toomuchtodreamlastnight

I want to start off with a little bit of a disclaimer…a warning. Me doing a blog post on Dissociation is a little bit the blind leading the blind. It’s not that I don’t have experience with dissociation. It’s just that I don’t understand it. It’s not something I’ve even touched on yet with my counsellors or my psychiatrist. So really, I have no idea what brings it on, or “triggers” it. But I definitely experience it, I know what it’s like, I just have no idea as to the why. I guess that will have to be a follow up post.

IMG_0792

Have you ever had that feeling, where you’re in control of what you’re doing, but it almost seems like you’re not really there? It lasts a few seconds, then you snap out of it, and it feels almost like you were dreaming? Maybe you have no idea what…

View original post 633 more words

One thought on “31 Day BPD Challenge – Day 7: Have you ever dissociated? If so, how often?

  1. I have schizoaffective disorder and depersonalization disorder and tons of anxiety. When I am anxious I dissociate. It happens a lot in social settings, not for long. I will maybe lose part of a conversation. But, it is enough to make me more nervous. I have floated above or watched myself from behind, but mostly I am just startled that things are actually real. I had trouble finding anyone to relate to or who understood what i was talking about. Your description, that it feels like you were dreaming, is right on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

